scale your travel blog to six figures review | travel blogging course

REVIEW: Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Course [2022]

disclosure policy

Want to know how to make six figures blogging?

As a profitable travel blogger — I’m on track to do over six figures in 2022 — I’m about to tell you how I’ve done it. First off, I made making this money a priority because I want to blog full time. Second, I invested in Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures, a course that changed my life forever.

Right off the bat, you might see where this review is going. I love this course and credit Laura (of the Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures travel blogging course) with pointing me in the right direction for success. However, make no mistake, I am successful because I was determined to be.

💰 In case you’re curious, I made more than $20,000 USD in May 2022 alone.

I want to be clear that if you’re not 100% in on travel blogging as a business, you will not have the results I have. If so, do not invest in the Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures blogging course. If you are, I want to share my experience with you, so you can see if this course is right for you.

For those who would rather go straight to the source, you can sign up for this FREE Webinar. Each week, Laura hosts a live webinar where she’ll show you what the course is all about. If you want to read my honest review of Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures, let’s dive in.

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

Who Am I? (And Why Should You Care?)

travel mexico solo

Hi, I’m Shelley, and I’m a travel blogger — as in, I earn a full-time living from this blog. (Note: I have a second blog now, but this one brings in the bulk of my income.) As far as the Why should you care part, hopefully the stats below speak for themselves ⤵

🤑 Blogging Income Report & Traffic Stats

Updated: May 2022

  • I made $20,278.47 USD from blogging in May 2022 — $13,452.52 from affiliate marketing and sponsorships, and $6,826.24 from the ads on my site.
  • My website received 216,330 page views in May 2022.

If you’ve heard blogging is dead, I guess I never got that memo 🤷‍♀️ However, stats like that don’t come overnight. In fact, my first year blogging I made $0 — and actually spent about $1,500 on the blog. As they say, you gotta spend money to make money.

Note: If you don’t care about me or my story at all, no hard feelings! You can jump to the Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures course review with this link.

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

Quick history of my blogging journey

I started this site in April 2020, and like most beginner bloggers, had exactly zero clues about what I was doing. I flailed around for a bit, consuming as much free content as possible, until I wised up and invested in myself by investing in travel blogging courses (more on that in a minute).

In my first year blogging, 2020, I made no money at all. I didn’t have Google Analytics set-up (something you’ll learn about in Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures), so I have no idea how much website traffic I had. I’ll go on a limb here and assume it’s not a number I’d be bragging about!

In my second year, I made a total of $8,540.94 USD, and had 432,139 web page views on my site for the entire year. Now in 2022, my third year as a travel blogger, things have really leveled up. From January 1 to May 31, 2022 alone — I’ve made $64,369, and had over 1 million page views.

  • January 2022: $4,291.20
  • February 2022: $8,780.40
  • March 2022: $13,347.91
  • April 2022: $17,661.96
  • May 2022: $20,278.47My biggest month yet!

…so enough about me. Let’s get to this review of Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures, the course I credit with getting to where I am today in my blogging journey.

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures — What an enticing name, right? Do you read that and think No way, not me, I could never 😵 If so, I was right there with you not too long ago. While I have taken other courses, this is the best course for blogging I’ve done, and here’s why⤵

Why I loved Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures

It’s the most easy to follow, easy-to-consume course of the seven travel blog classes I’ve taken. While some of the biggest travel bloggers out there today have courses (I’ve done some of them), SYTBTSF is the best blog course because of the 1 on 1 blog coaching, which no others offer.

What I also like about Laura, who runs the course, is that she’s a more recent success story in the travel blogging world. I found that learning from the big name travel bloggers who “made it big” in 2015 no longer have a clue what it’s like for travel bloggers just starting out today.

As an example, I took Nomadic Matt’s course before Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures. Matt Kenes (AKA Nomadic Matt) started his very successful travel blog in 2008, and while I found the course content useful, he knew nothing about what it was like for me starting a blog in 2020.

Laura, however, did. She grew her own travel blog to six figures in 2018-19, so she absolutely knows the struggles of someone like me, who started their blogging journey in 2020. (Note: I’m in no way bashing Nomadic Matt’s course; it just wasn’t the right one for me.)

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

1 on 1 Travel blog coaching with Laura

Laura and Mike, of the blog Mike and Laura Travel and the Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures course.

With every other travel blog course I’ve seen, you just get the course. Courses are great, and I’m a bit of a course junkie — but they are very general. In any good course, you will see how to succeed using proven techniques, but they may not be the techniques you need for your blog’s success.

Here’s an example: When I signed up for Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures, Laura did a full site audit to locate my blog’s unique strengths and weaknesses. One of the things she had me do was change my theme. I didn’t think a theme change would make much difference, but she was right.

It turned out my theme was slowing my site down a lot. I changed it in August 2021, and by September 2021, my website traffic doubled. Yes, you read that right — in one month, making no other changes besides the theme, I went from 27,000 sessions to 47,000.

While a general course might tell you “Some themes are better than others,” it would never have said “Shelley, you need to change your website theme ASAP.” That is the power of working with a 1:1 blog coach who’s amazing at what they do, like Laura has proven to be.

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

🎉 Getting accepted into Mediavine

I started working with Laura in mid-July 2021, and three months later, I was accepted to Mediavine on October 21, 2021. For many bloggers, getting on Mediavine is a huge milestone because it’s so lucrative. (I make about 33% of my total income from Mediavine alone.)

Before getting on Mediavine, I was with SHE Media, another ad management company that places ads on websites. My last month with SHE was October 2021, and I made $866.35, and my first month with Mediavine was November 2021, and I made $4,386.25 — over 5X more 😳

With the money I made in November 2021 alone, I more than paid for the original investment to join Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures. Without 1:1 coaching from Laura, I can’t say I’d be on Mediavine today, or that I’d be able to blog full time, as I am now.

What is Mediavine?

Mediavine is an ad management company, just like SHE Media, Monumetric, Ezoic and Google AdSense, that places ads on websites. Bloggers want to get accepted to Mediavine because they (and Ad Thrive) pay the most — though Mediavine and AdThrive both require a lot of traffic.

You need 50,000 sessions per month (that’s 50K people visiting your site in a 30 day period) to apply for Mediavine, which is a lot. When you first start blogging, 50K sessions seems impossible. I too thought it was impossible, and hovered around 25,000 sessions for months.

I, like many travel bloggers, just assumed Mediavine was forever out of reach. Fifty thousand might as well have been a million, or so I thought. Within three months of working with Laura, I about doubled my traffic from about 27K to 50K, and got on Mediavine 🥳

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

What’s included with Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures?

It’s a seven-module course, with video lessons — which are so much more convenient than written lessons, amirite?! The modules include how to set up a WordPress blog the correct way, mastering SEO for travel blogs, affiliate marketing, email marketing, sponsored posts and more.

Private Facebook Group

The Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures private Facebook group is another nice perk. In here, you can ask Laura questions you have about the course material, and also network with your fellow classmates, who are all be travel bloggers like you.

I am in a few similar groups, and can attest that the quality of information I see shared in the SYTBTSF Facebook group is much better than anything in free public blogging groups. People also tend to be nicer here, since the teacher’s in the group and no one wants to get in trouble!

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

Is Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures right for you?

Personally, I think it’s for everyone, at any stage — the course modules will show you how to set up your blog the right way, and the 1:1 coaching will help you level up fast and make money. If you’re struggling with any of the things listed below, sign up for the FREE webinar to learn more.

  • Finding the motivation to start your travel blog
  • SEO (Search Engine Optimization)
  • Getting consistent organic traffic to your travel blog
  • Earning consistent money with your travel blog
  • Getting your blogs on Page 1 of Google

What if I’m not a beginner blogger?

That’s even better! I wasn’t a beginner blogger when I started the course either — my blog was 15 months old, and I was getting about 27,000 monthly page views. I was, however, someone ready to make my blog my full time job, and earn a full time income from it.

For travel bloggers who are a bit more established and even making some money, I can’t recommend one-on-one blog mentorship enough. This goes beyond a class that will help all bloggers, to a custom-tailored plan of action for you specifically.

As a side note, I have recommended this course to a few other “non-beginner” blogger friends, who are all loving the course.

Whether you’re a beginner blogger, or want to level up your blogging game, get over the hump and get onto Mediavine already 🤑, I still recommend Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures because it’s the best travel blogging course I’ve done (and I have done seven now).

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

How much is Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures?

The course plus private coaching with Laura is $1997 USD, and totally 1000% worth every penny. As someone who’s done a good amount of courses, private coaching was the ultimate game changer for me — and I know it’s the only reason I’m on track to hit six-figures with my blog in 2022.

Now, there’s likely an amount of sticker shock to that price. I know most travel bloggers start with a budget of $0. You have to see this as an investment, which means you temporarily hand over an amount of money for something, knowing it’s 100% coming back to you (with interest 😜).

Why 1-on-1 blog coaching is better than a travel blogging course

As mentioned, Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures is the best travel blogging course I’ve taken. However, it was the one-on-one coaching that locked everything in for me. Having a pro like Laura put her eyes directly on my blog to identify my unique struggles, is why I have success today.

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

View this Travel Blogging Course as an Investment

The definition of investment is “the action or process of investing money for profit or material result.” Investing is not the same as buying. With your investment in Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures, you temporarily exchange money fully knowing you’ll turn that money into even money.

Thanks to investing in myself, by investing in this course, I’m on track to make six-figures with my blog in 2022 (see my stats above). Sadly, I know people who started blogs around the same time as mine, who are still making $0 per month, and writing great blog posts no one will ever read.

How am I doing so much better than so many other bloggers? I’m not special; I can tell you that much. I did, however, believe in myself enough to invest in the Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures course, so I could live my dream life as a digital nomad and travel writer.

If you’re ready to do the same, at least attend one of the FREE webinar trainings Laura hosts, and find out how she can help your blog scale to six-figures — just like she did for mine! If you decide the course isn’t for you, hey, all you lost was one hour of time.

Travel Blog Courses: FAQ

Do I need to buy a blogging courses?

No — You are in no way obligated to buy a travel blogging course. However, if you care about having financial success any time soon, you’ll certainly want to so that you can have the travel resources you need for success right at your fingertips.

For me personally, I had a blog for 1.5 years, and it went absolutely nowhere. The first year I invested in a travel blogging course, I started to get traffic and a bit of income. Now, in year two, I’m on track to have a six-figure blog. (Still weird to say, btw!)

I’m in several online blogger groups on Facebook, and I see so many people in travel blogging forums online who’ve had blogs for years and still aren’t making money, and have hardly any traffic. Sadly, no random stranger in a forum or FB group is going to swoop in and save your blog.

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

Are there any good free courses on blogging?

No — At least, not in my opinion. As the old saying goes: You get what you pay for. There’s a ton of free content, but it’s up to you to figure out which free content is good free content, all while having to piece together what steps you should do in which order, and then still just hoping for the best.

While free things are great, paying for a course gives you accountability, and since you paid for it, that payment helps motivate you to actually complete it. Think of the last internet freebie you got — Do you value it as much as something similar you paid for? Do you even use it?

If cost is a concern, consider joining Travel Blog Prosperity — your first month is just $9USD with code TRAVELMEXICOSOLO. If you have the budget, I can’t recommend Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures enough, especially given these incredible results I’ve had.

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

What’s the average travel blogging salary?

When it comes to making money travel blogging, there’s really no average amount. Some bloggers have published what they make, like The Blonde Abroad and One Step 4 Ward, both have $1 million+ per year blogs, and Nomadic Matt, who also likely makes over seven figures.

By contrast, some bloggers make $0. When I got serious about monetizing my blog, I decided I will absolutely hit seven figures one day, and I started taking steps to do so — like investing in Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures. I figure that if The Blonde Abroad can do it, so can I!

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

What’s the earning potential of travel bloggers?

This really is a better question to ask than How much do travel bloggers make?, or Do bloggers make good money? I look at this blog as small businesses, and with your own blog business, the sky’s the limit on how much you earn.

For me, I only want to work 15-20 hours a week. If I were working a full time 40 hour workweek, I could make a lot more money than I am right now. In short, when you’re a small business owner (yes — bloggers can totally be one) you set your own glass ceiling on earnings.

Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

Is it worth starting a travel blog in 2022?

As someone who makes a full-time income from my travel blog, works only about 20 hours per week, from any location on Earth I want to — FU+K YES it is. However, setting up a WordPress blog and learning how to blog properly takes time. Blogging is a marathon, not a sprint.

My blog did nothing in year one; it was basically a place to hear crickets. In year two, I invested in Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures, and now in year three I’ve made more than $64K from just January 2022 to May 2022 🤯

Does it cost money to start a blog?

Yes — But you decide how much you spend. The cheapest way is to sign up for Bluehost, famous for their cheap website hosting at just $2.95 per month, set-up WordPress, and get started blogging. Of course, that’s the simplified version, but do know you can start a blog for cheap.

Note: You can actually start a blog for free on Blogger. Unlike with a website on Bluehost, you don’t own your Blogger site (Blogger does), and therefore can’t make money from it. If you want a blog that’s also your business, you need to own your site.

Conclusion: Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures Review

I want to end this article with a bit of a warning ⚠️ I wasted 1.5 years blogging the wrong way — Please don’t be like me! I had a non-optimized website, wrote blog posts about my personal experiences with no SEO in mind, and hoped to make money. Spoiler: I 100% did not.

There is a system to travel blogging success, and it’s not common sense. In fact, you either know it, or you don’t. You’re either writing SEO-optimized content with keywords that will rank on Page 1 of Google, or no one sees your content. (Stats say only 25% of users even go to Page 2 of Google.)

When I first started, I wrote about my experiences traveling in Mexico, thinking they were so amazing everyone would care. Spoiler: No one cared (except my mom; hi mom). When many hear the word blog, they think of a diary. However, blogging for profit is an entirely different animal.

If you want to be a successful travel blogger, you need to think about your audience. Not yourself.

—LaurA, Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures coach

Through Scale Your Travel Blog to Six Figures, I learned I need to write the articles you want to read, and not just the articles I want to write. I learned how to get my content on Page 1 of Google with search engine optimization (SEO) — in fact, that’s likely how you found this article.

The way I see it: You can pay with time, or you can pay with money. You can either spend your time trying to find good free content, which could take years and still not pan out, or you can pay a professional to learn what they’re doing, so you can simply replicate their success.

🤑 If you’re ready to level up with my coach, Laura, attend one of her free webinar trainings here, and find out how she can help your blog scale to six-figures — just like she did this blog.